Heaven on Earth

“In this manner, therefore, pray: Our Father in Heaven, Hallowed be Your name. Your kingdom come. Your will be done on earth as it is in Heaven.” — Jesus via Matthew 6:9,10 NKJV

Let me begin by saying how humbling it is for me to be aroused from my slumber by the gentle nudging of the Holy Spirit. Imagine how loved you would feel if your significant other were to wake you out of your sleep just because they wanted to hear your voice and have conversation with you. Magnify that feeling a million times and you will understand how blown away I am every time He does this to me. Today was another one of those days when He woke me up to talk to Him. You haven’t seen a sunrise more beautiful than a sunrise you watch in His Presence.

Something amazing happened to me while I was in prayer this morning. It is the most wonderful phenomenon that humankind could ever experience in life: that is, to hear the voice of God speak to him–to be in intimate contact with the Great I AM. God blew me away this morning with a revelation that burns so violently in my chest. I inquired the Lord about what I should do about my current employment situation. He said unto me the word that I’ve gotten used to hearing from Him, “Wait.” I did just that. I waited in His Presence and worshiped Him. He told me what to do in my waiting season.

In Matthew 6, Jesus is teaching His followers about the ways of His Father and the Kingdom. In the aforementioned excerpt, our Lord teaches us how to pray accurately. What the Lord showed me this morning is that everything I have need of has been already established in Heaven. Shall I prove it? In verse 10 of Matthew 6, our King prays, “Your will be done on earth as it is in Heaven.” This insinuates that everything God has for me already exists in the Heavenlies. His will  has already been performed in Heaven, but Jesus instructs us to pray and cry out to the Father that the will He has purposed for us be manifested on the earth. You may ask, “How do I begin to pray this way?” Simple. Go before God and search out His will for you and then begin to cry out to Him for those things to come to pass. The key is to pray out what God is saying about you and your life. Pray with His heart in mind. Aggressively pursue those things that are in His will for you.

In Heaven, you are healed!

In Heaven, you are delivered!

In Heaven, you are whole!

In Heaven, you are renewed!

In Heaven, you are prosperous and wealthy!

In Heaven, you are wise!

In Heaven, you are intelligent and given the mind of Christ!

In Heaven, you are burning for Jesus!

In Heaven, you are a soul winner for the Kingdom!

In Heaven, you are… every single thing you could ever need in Him!

It is already done! It is established in the Heavens! That’s great, but that’s not good enough. God wants us to cry out until those things that are realities in Heaven become realities in the earth. But it goes even further than the things we want from God. God wants us to cry out until we become that which He has ordained us to be. We all have specific destinies that have come from the bosom of God–those plans that God had in mind when He created you and I. Those are the things He wants us to pursue. Let us activate our faith.

“…but also to those who are of the faith of Abraham, who is the father of us all (as it is written, I have made you a father of many nations,) in the presence of Him who he believed, God, who gives life to the dead and calls those things which do not exist as though they did; who, contrary to hope, in hope believed, so that he became the father of many nations, according to what was spoken, ‘So shall your descendants be.'” –Paul via Romans 4:16-18 NKJV

Here Paul is using Abraham as an example of faith. God knew He needed a man to be the father of many nations and Abraham was chosen. Before it could be true on earth, it was established in Heaven through God’s heart, His desire. The Word is always established in Heaven before it can be performed on earth. Everything God says is truth. All He needs is people who are hungry enough to trust Him and pursue that thing with all they have within them.

Another translation of this scripture says it plainly:

We call Abraham “father” not because he got God’s attention by living like a saint, but because God made something out of Abraham when he was a nobody. Isn’t that what we’ve always read in Scripture, God saying to Abraham, ‘I set you up as a father of many peoples’? Abraham was first named “father” and then became a father because he dared to trust God to do what only God could do: raise the dead to life, with a word make something out of nothing. –MSG

Did you see what happened in Abraham’s situation? God first named him, then he became that which God called him because he trusted God enough to hunger after that which God promised. What I want us all to realize is that there are specific things God has named us, called us to be, and called us to do. We must have an encounter with Him and let Him name us and then let us all pray that His will be performed in the earth as it is in Heaven. Finally, let us all become that which He has purposed and designed us to be. Let us see ourselves being and doing exactly that which He sees.

Today, in this hour, in this season of my life, I am crying out to God until I see those things He has purposed for me to be and to do are manifested on the earth. I encourage you to join me. Let’s cry out for those things. Let’s be useful in the Kingdom.

God has named us all.

Do you know your name?

Photo Credit: hoboton, Royalty-free

Photo Credit: hoboton, Royalty-free

Show Me Love

