Where Passion & Purpose Collide

The great thing about life is that behind every disappointment, success, failure, and triumph is a beautiful story waiting to be told. Every narrative features a colorful cast of key players who help challenge, encourage, and sharpen the protagonist. The main characters in my life have been my family. I grew up in a Christian home with God-fearing parents who taught me about the Lord. Suddenly, I was enamored by this wonderful God.

When I was twelve, my father revealed to me that God spoke to him and said, “Jeida will write for Me.” Literature and writing were two of my favorite indulgences so I was elated to weave God into them. Poetry, novellas, and play scripts flowed effortlessly from my pen as I began to pour myself into my writing. Fictional characters came to life on the page. Never once had I considered that I had forgotten a major component of God’s promise over my life.

Jeida will write for Me

As the year progressed, my ardor for writing waned. I began to resent the gift He had given me. I lost sight of God rather than choosing to lose everything to find myself in Him. I was striving to perform instead of wholly surrendering myself. I attempted to give my gifts to God while withholding fragments of my heart. The word He’d given my father wasn’t so much about the activity of writing but my willingness to be for Him. He was calling me to be a worshiper in every aspect of who I am.

Some people worship through song. Some people worship through dance. I worship with words. When I write I imagine reverberating echoes of celestial symphonies wafting to His throne. God breathes every word, phrase, and syllable into me so that I may exhale it back to Him. I thought I was pursuing God but He was pursuing me. I thought I needed Him to make my story relevant, but it’s never been my story. He invites me to be a part of His story. Writing is my passion, but Jesus is my purpose.  All that I am and all that I produce will be for His glory, His name, and His renown.  From writing to giving to serving, I am constantly emptying myself at His feet and worshiping Him with my best.

As for my brief chapter in his grand story, I have no idea what is next for me. All I know is that my life has been stitched into His story, and by Him and through Him it is already complete.

What about you? What is your passion, and how do you use it to glorify God?

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

— Colossians 3:17, ESV

11 thoughts on “Where Passion & Purpose Collide

  1. This. Lol, i feel like that’s enough to say. Words aren’t my thing, but I just wanted you to know that this is like the 3rd time I’ve read this since you posted it and each time God has said something different to me through your words. Thank you so much for this! And I pray that God continues to use you. I’m super excited to see what He has in store!

  2. Pingback: REBLOG: Where Passion & Purpose Collide | Trial is Testimony

  3. Powerful piece sis. It is amazing how easy it is to forget what God speaks over our lives, but to hold on to the poisonous words spoken by others. I commend you and I pray you continue to be a willing instrument to our loving God. Amen.

    • Thank you so much for commenting! The bible says somewhere that we must hold fast to the words of God. We are to be mindful of those promises and cling to them. His very words are life and peace.

      Thank you for the encouragement,
      Jei

Show Me Love

