Songs in the Night

Have you ever been in the middle of something — perhaps talking to a group of friends, shopping in the mall, or even driving down the street — and someone extremely attractive stopped you in your tracks? Immediately whatever you were saying or doing before pales in significance, that is if you can remember what it was in the first place. Suddenly all that matters is this walking visage of radiance.

As I sit here haphazardly pecking away on my laptop, Lord, I Thirst for You begins to softly play… and before I know it I am mesmerized by God. I have long forgotten the thing that had been consuming my mind. The lyrics have now taken me prisoner and I am in a trance.

Lord, I thirst for You

It amazes me that we can live for weeks without food, but in most cases we could not survive longer than one week without water. A lack of food will not cripple us immediately, but without water we will deteriorate rapidly. Hunger can be ignored after the hunger pangs dissipate, but the fate of a man lacking hydration is usually sudden and devastating. Thirst insinuates a level of urgent desperation to be filled. This is the level of desperation with which we are to desire the Lord. Are you thirsty?

And I long to be in Your presence

I can recall moments of intimate worship that Jesus and I used to share when I was younger. I used to stay up late and sing to Him. I’m not a singer, but I was so in love that it didn’t matter to me. My voice may have been out of tune, but my spirit sang in perfect harmony with His. Somehow as the years have gone by, I became busy. Too busy to worship. Too sleepy to pray early. Too self-absorbed to spend time with Him. Too prideful to give Him all of me. Too preoccupied to miss His presence. Are you longing?

My soul will wait on You

Waiting can be the most torturous task to ask of someone. Even the most patient person among us will admit that there is something in their life that is unbearable to wait for. Waiting to become a teenager, to go to high school, to get a driver’s license, to graduate college, to start that dream career, to fall in love, to get married, to have a baby, to get out of debt, to pay the house off, to become grandparents…. The waiting never ends. Waiting takes having faith in the unseen. Waiting takes having complete trust in God’s sovereignty. Waiting is not idle time; it is eager expectation for the things we’ve hoped for. My soul, like the Trinity, is comprised of three parts: my mind, my will, and my emotions. My mind (thoughts) must trust God. My will (desires) must trust God. My emotions (feelings) must trust God. Are you waiting?

Father, draw me nearer

My heart is turning violently in my chest. With all my heart, I want Him to close the gap between us. I cannot stand the distance any longer. Are you drawn to Him?

Draw me nearer to the beauty of Your holiness

I am thirsty.

I am longing.

I am waiting.

I am drawing near.

Here I am.

5 thoughts on “Songs in the Night

Show Me Love

